Thursday, May 12, 2016
Possible Penalties for DWI in North Carolina
As in other states, North Carolina takes DWI convictions very seriously and levies heavy penalties against any offender. If you are found guilty of DWI, these are the consequences you may face.
While all states issue fines for DWI/DUI offenses, the amounts may vary. In North Carolina, one may be charged as low as $200 or as high as $10,000 depending on the aggravating or mitigating circumstances. North Carolina has six levels of offense, including an aggravated level 1, which is considered the highest offense.
States sometimes impose jail time for DWI offenders. North Carolina typically requires community service with no jail time for first offenders. For second-time offenses, some jail time becomes likely, but expect at least 30 days if you have been charged for the third time. If your case is considered to be an aggravated Level 1, you could spend up to 3 years behind bars.
Aside from paying legal fines and spending time in prison, DWI offenders will lose their driving privileges for a given period of time. License suspension for a minimum of 1 year is imposed for all levels of DWI offenses.
For all DWI levels, an offender is required to undergo substance abuse assessment.
To learn more of these penalties and what you can do about them, contact a DWI lawyer at Kurtz & Blum today.